Long-Term Exhibit

The History of the Willard-Case Mansion

The Cayuga Museum is housed in the Willard-Case Mansion which was home to two prominent families between 1843 and 1926. The Willards and Cases, related through marriage, were both wealthy and philanthropic and left a considerable legacy to their community.

The Willard family purchased the mansion in 1843. Dr. Sylvester Willard, his wife Jane, their daughters Caroline and Georgiana, Jane’s parents Erastus and Mary Case, and Jane’s brother Theodore Pettibone Case lived in the mansion, along with a staff of servants.

The main entrance of the Museum, where the exhibit begins, is in the Willard’s summer dining room, but the ground floor would largely have been the domain of the servants. The kitchen and coal cellar were located on this level, as were several rooms for those servants who lived on-site.

Upon Caroline’s death in 1916, the property went to her cousin Willard Case, who let his son Ted move in. Ted lived in the mansion until 1926 and gifted the property to a local group interested in starting a museum in 1936. The then-empty house was used as gallery space for art and history exhibits, as well as hosting clubs and musical groups. Today you will find art, history, and film exhibits along with this exhibit exploring the physical space of the museum property.